• LEGOLAND Package

    Plan your summer escape with a family trip… read more
  • Stay & Go Package

    Next stop, New York City!  Experience our… read more

Hastings-On-Hudson

Our Hampton Inn & Suites Hotel near Hastings-on-Hudson

Located just two miles from the Hampton Inn & Suites Yonkers hotel, Hastings-on-Hudson is a quiet riverfront village with panoramic views of the Manhattan skyline. The Hampton Inn Yonkers, a hotel near Hastings on Hudson, is ideally suited for traveling through the area.
Nestled on the eastern bank of the Hudson River, this former industrial center has undergone a dramatic transformation from a district of abandoned buildings and factories to a vibrant community of beautiful homes, restaurants, shops and parks.

Only a 30-minute train ride from Grand Central Station, the town is a favorite of writers, performers, artists and academics – with five Nobel laureates calling Hastings-on-Hudson home. Its large number of independently owned shops, boutiques and eateries draws shoppers and diners looking for something unique. Athletes and outdoorsy types delight in the community’s many public playing fields and parks, including a scenic section of the ubiquitous Old Croton Aqueduct Trail.

Main Street’s rich blend of old and new architecture features several turn-of-1900 structures contrasted with contemporary buildings like the James Harmon Community Center, a beautifully reconstructed building that opened in 2007.

Hastings-on-Hudson Attractions

John William Draper House

Also known as Draper Park, the John William Draper House is the house of the American scientist, philosopher, physician, chemist, historian and photographer, John William Draper (May 5, 1811-January 4, 1882). Among his notable achievements, he is credited with producing the first clear photograph of a female face (1839-40) and the first detailed photograph of the Moon (1840). The house was declared a National Historic Landmark in 1975. It is located in the middle of a small park and is currently used as the offices of the Hastings Historical Society and a museum of local history.

Jasper F. Cropsey Home and Studio

Ever Rest, the former home and studio of Hudson River School artist Jasper Cropsey, features an art collection from the Hudson River School of painting. The museum is closed in December, January and August and open from 10 A.M.-1 P.M. weekdays (by appointment only). The Newington Cropsey Foundation's Gallery of Art is open for a 45-minute tour by appointment. The guided tour takes approximately 45 minutes and is offered Monday through Friday from 1 P.M.-5 P.M. Tours must be arranged by telephone at least a week in advance. The Gallery is closed during January and August. Passive (unguided) viewing of the grounds and architecture is allowed from 1 P.M.-5 P.M. weekdays without an appointment.

The Museum in the Streets

The Hastings-on-Hudson Historical Society initiated The Museum of the Streets, a walking tour of the village that opened in Hastings-on-Hudson in 2005. The self-guided tour begins in downtown Boulanger Plaza. At 34 locations throughout the village, handsome 20-by-20-inch signs feature at least one historical photo of the site from by-gone days, plus a brief explanation of its history in English and in Spanish. The route is displayed on a 48-by-59-inch sign posted at the starting location and a brochure is available at local public buildings and businesses and at www.hastingshistorical.org.

MacEachron Waterfront Park and Kinnally Cove:

Take in spectacular views of the Hudson River, the Palisades, the George Washington and Tappan Zee Bridges, and the Manhattan skyline. MacEachron Park’s picnic and playground facilities, and a brand-new informal kayak launch, beach and boardwalk at Kinnally Cove make for a full day of recreation and relaxing enjoyment of the Hudson River vistas.

Old Croton Aqueduct Trailway

Following the aqueduct route that was once used to bring fresh water from the Croton River to New York City, the trailway meanders through Hastings-on-Hudson, affording spectacular views of the Hudson River and Palisades. The trail begins on the south side of the Croton Dam, farthest away from the spillway. Along the way, walkers will see old ventilator shafts as well as a weir chamber, used to spill off wastewater during floods.

sign up for email offers

area attractions

Click here for more information

Special Offers

Click here for more information

Video Tour

Click here for Video Tour

Trip Advisor